Linux and the RTX Cards

So, this may just be isolated to my machine, but I don’t think it is. I for some reason, cannot get any distro to behave properly on my system with my RTX 2060 installed. I had openSUSE Tumbleweed working for a while but an update to either the kernel or the nvidia drivers broke it. I had wanted to move to something arch based for a while, and heard that Manjaro worked well with the newer nvidia cards. So I tried to install that, but was unable to even get the USB to boot. I tried removing the GPU, installing it, and then putting the GPU back in and installing the drivers. But it still just stops at the black screen.

I wouldn’t call myself a linux n00b. But I am by no means an expert, just a guy who prefers linux. I really hope someone can help me out. I’ve been having to use Windows 10 and I don’t like it. I want my Linux rig back!

the RTX gpus should be compatible with linux. did you try nomodeset in your kernel cmdline options?

I did try nomodeset, as well as the nonfree drivers where they apply.

and it was working on opensuse?

It was working just fine on openSUSE. Albeit a finicky boot process, but it worked fine after that. (it took a while to boot, like a solid minute or more on an SSD)

did you try a snapper rollback before removing opensuse or did you just install manjaro straight away?

I just installed manjaro, but not before trying all the options I had done to get it working the first time: reinstall drivers, use manual drivers, nomodeset, etc.

is it just manjaro that doesn’t work? are you able to get to tty on manjaro or is the entire system unusable?

I’ve been able to get tty on manjaro, I installed the drivers via mwhd. But that still just landed me at the black screen.

black screen when you try to access your desktop?
look for errors in logs. things like the systemd journal for your display manager or Xorg log files in /var/log or dmesg

I just get things like failed to start xorg.