Light arch linux setup for gaming

Okay so in the next week I want to reinstall arch linux base and set it up for gaming but need some advise on specific parts.

Amd foss driver over ccc

Has it improved recently havent really tried it for gaming

What kernel to use?

Latest stable or testing kernel for newer tech?

Lxqt or other DE?

SSD Improvements to increase read/write performance just to boot faster

Emu software for stuff likeboarderlands 2 and ff8... stick with wine?

Thats it really

Thanks

Well if you're not going to run a fully free distro I don't see a point is using the free AMD drivers. I've never used the free AMD drivers on Linux before but if they're anything like the free Nvidia drivers I'd stay away from them just because they don't work well.

If you're able to I'd just follow this: https://teksyndicate.com/forum/linux/what-if-i-want-everything/157480

I think it's time you made your own distro XDroidie626.

If Spatry and MMoore can do it, anyone can lol.

"The free AMD drivers are 80% the performance ..." -Quote Zoltan

I'm kinda in the same boat, I recently took the attitude “if xf86-video-ati drivers can't handle it, then I won't play the game”. Instead of installing the proprietary drivers you should create and manually tweak /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-radeon.conf.

...Actually I should start tweaking them too; Civ5 runs faster than before in Windows but crashes every time at a leader screen, which makes the game unplayable.

About “if foss drivers has improved recently”; a patch improving the free ati drivers will ship with kernel 3.16 later this summer, whereas they were last improved with 3.12 (not 100% sure about this). Atm it's in RC 3 so you could try it already out.

For the SSD, at system install do not use cfdisk to partition the drive since the program cannot align the drive with correct block sizes. Go with fdisk or gdisk.