Liang li desk, Threadripper pro build

I’m trying to find a way to extend my pcie slots accross to either risers or a 4gpu backplane. I’m building a lian li desk that normally could host two complete systems, Im using a asus motherboard for the threadripper pro 64 core. I’m a graphic artist/dev that uses 3d rendering. I have 4 radeon pro w5700 I want to put on the left side of desk. I’m going to water cool them all on that side. Using them as a renderfarm. The right side is for the motherboard. 7 slots pcie x 16. I will be using a radeon vii on that side for handling regular monitor output. I’m populating some of the pcie slots with nvme expansion cards and sas board for massive storage setup. I have mining risers but not sure the X1 is enough for render farm cards. Is there an easy way to expand one X16 slot to 4gpu about 2feet distance. Without loosing performance of gpu acceleration? I know I could put another system on otherside and slave it to the sworkstation but honestly this beast doesn’t need it. I just need ideas or parts that might help in using all these pcie lanes.!

1 Like

The least headache thing may actually be to just shove the render gpus in an actual system. The. Your main system could reboot or anything while a renders going and no problem?

Otherwise you probably kinda need a special pcie expander backplane which you can get

4 Likes

+1 This.

Rendering as a service in your own home. Flipside, you can turn them off when you don’t need them.

… as if you ever don’t need them <3

3 Likes