Learning Fortigate Firewall/Networking

Hello,
I am currently just got a new job in IT after i went back to school to get a deeper education in IT. With focus on Network and Security. My curriculum was ccent/ccna + ccna Security, and some other “vendor neutral” curriculum.
My work evolves around Security, I can not go more into detail due to the NDA i signed.

At my new place of employment they are using Fortigate, I have no prior experience with Fortigate. I have asked the network department to get a “tour” of the network. But no luck there, I dont know why they are so resilient on giving me some information about how the network is setup, even tough my duties kinda require me to know how the network is setup.

Even tough I have no problem understanding the “terminology” and have no problems understanding the concepts used in networking, they seem reluctant letting me in to their network. Kinda frustrates me because then I have to call them when they are off work should anything network related emerge…Kinda counter productive u ask me but oh well i digress…

I am a learn by doing kinda person, so for be to get a insight in how things are setup is important for me to make sense if it and understand it, the last place i worked we had 750 users. Lets say this place is in an totally different league when it comes to users and size.

And the network is complex, for me its hard to understand how it all “fits” together without knowing how the network is setup. Or at least that is how I have previously learned how things works. What goes where and where the traffic is suppose to go and what else have you.