Learning Code at College, in person/ or online?

I’m taking my first programming courses next semester and was wondering if the developers on this forum have a recommendation on whether to take the classes in person.
I do work full time so the classes being accessible anywhere is a huge plus for me, and i have an easier time focusing outside of a classroom environment.

the classes are python 1, python for games, and visual basic. is there any reason i should be in the room for these?

I’m not a programmer by trade, but I did learn R this past semester online without a hitch.

Maybe find some online intro to Python stuff and try that out ahead of time? If you can teach yourself by yourself you’ll most likely be fine taking the class online in my opinion.

That’s going to be a large part of it, then. I enjoy online classes because I rarely ask questions in class, don’t go to socialize, and finish my work much faster in an online course than a physical, in-person course.

However, if you need someone to bounce questions on on the spot, that’s something to consider. Keep a notebook on hand during your online course (if you go that route) and send an email later or go to office hours with your questions.

If you need to research something or dig into something, write it down and do it after the lecture. If you are easily distracted than pausing a video to go research something and then getting into browsing a forum is going to be detrimental to your education. Focus and determination are vastly more important in an online class compared to an in-person one.

4 Likes

i have an easier time focusing outside of a classroom environment.

There’s your answer.

There’s no reason why you need a classroom to learn programming and most of the degree-holding programmers I’ve worked with learned to program prior to enrolling in the degree program.