KVM and Pass-through Questions

Hey guys I’m new and I’m also a noob at this stuff, but I have a few questions that I’m hoping that you fellas can answer.

Now this idea looks awesome as I eventually want to transition to having Linux as my host operating system and running my games and other windows stuff through a vm, with GPU pass through. So here is where my questions start…

1. Now I assume since Linux is the host OS in this case, KVM is used? (kinda like in proxmox, as that is what I am messing around with atm, and yeah I am still learning this stuff so my knowledge is limited)
  2. Wendell mentioned something about input problems, so that’s regarding mouse and keyboard input and more importantly, latency?
  3. I’m happy to have two monitors and having the output of the GPU go to another monitor for windows, but in doing so will I be able to achieve 144Hz/FPS? (I assume I would since it would be coming directly through the GPU) OR is it limited to 60Hz/FPS due to virtualization limitations? Getting 144Hz would be good for those “twitch” shooters :smiley:

Cheers guys! :slight_smile:

Well, first off, Valve being hostile to VAC inside virtualization means CS:GO will not be possible unless you risk a VAC ban.

The latency issue stems from the USB passthrough of the input to the VM. You can bypass that completely if you use a USB controller card or use pci.stub to not allow the host OS to hook onto a select amount of USB ports on your motherboard to allow that to be passed through directly to the VM.

And yes, KVM and QEMU is primarily used.

I did a quick search, so from what I understand KVM allows for containers since its a kernel based vm (kinda like containers in proxmox) and QEMU actually allows for full on virtualization, is this right?

They actually looked into that issue as far as I know. Also why would you run CSGO virtualised under Windows if you can just run it natively in the first place :stuck_out_tongue: