Ivy bridge Gigabyte mb won't boot to USB on startup

Hey guys,

I've got freenas running on a gigabyte z77x-ud5h motherboard (I know, it's not ecc memory. :cry ) and it keeps trying to boot off of the hard disk I have inside which returns the error:

"This is a NAS data disk and can not boot system. System halted."

I figured this could be traced back to the boot priorities in the bios and sure enough the WD drive keeps getting first priority, which is strange because prior to actually setting up the NAS target and volumes the rig would boot with the USB first every time.

Anyhow, I started playing with some settings trying to either to move up the USB in priority which would still boot to hard disk, or I try and disable the WD drive as boot option which causes a failed boot altogether.

I also attempted to have the USB emulate as an HDD in hopes it would be chosen, but no dice.

The only way I could seem to boot to the freenas usb was to press f12 on startup to enter the boot menu and launch freenas manually.

Any ideas? I probably just have my bios settings messed up. Not really sure what all this mumbo jumbo about legacy and uefi is all about.

per the man

(Boot Option Priorities)

Specifies the overall boot order from the available devices. For example, you can set hard drive as the
first priority (Boot Option #1) and DVD ROM drive as the second priority (Boot Option #2). The list only
displays the device with the highest priority for a specific type. For example, only hard drive defined as the
first priority on the Hard Drive BBS Priorities submenu will be presented here.
Removable storage devices that support GPT format will be prefixed with "UEFI:" string on the boot device
list. To boot from an operating system that supports GPT partitioning, select the device prefixed with "UEFI:"
string.
Or if you want to install an operating system that supports GPT partitioning such as Windows 7 64-bit, select