It Just Works (tm) x470 motherboard using Linux

I’ll be using:

• Ryzen 2700x
  • 2 GPU’s (Probably RX580, and something else)
  • Maybe a water cooler in the future

Use cases will be:

• lots of “business/workstation” multitasking, including software development.
  • IOMMU GPU passthrough (for 3D architecture software in windows, not gaming)
  • 4x displays (1440p, and 1080p)
  • video editing
  • “Just for fun” crypto mining during off hours

Things I care about “Just working” ( Assuming up to date modern linux kernel ):

• Fan control
  • Fan speed monitoring
  • CPU, vrm, and all other temp sensors
  • Onboard networking
  • Stable, non buggy BIOS.

Things I don’t care about:

• RGB anything, or asthetics at all
  • bleeding edge overclocking

What motherboards do you suggest, and why? Or alternatively are there any boards or brands I should avoid based on my goals?

Thanks guys!

I have no experience with the 400 series boards and I have not done a lot of research since I build my current rig. In case you are interested in my anecdotal expereince with a x370 board (as the x470 boards are very similar):

I have the Asus prime x370-pro since 3 months after the Ryzen launch and it worked like a charm for me out of the box. It seems like the x470 version is very similar just different (almost identical) chipset. As I understand it, any board should work well as long as you don’t use an APU currently.

• GPU passthrough works
  • multiple GPUs work (although I don’t use anything powerful)
  • (in-BIOS) fan control works like a charm, I never got any sensor reporting in the OS to work though, no idea if that is different on other boards
  • all BIOS version I used were rock solid and there are regular updates, there were some early duds with problems regarding memory, nothing recent though.
  • no wireless, but Intel gigabit ethernet
  • has pump headers (like most boards these days) but I am using the stock cooler (works even with overclock)

Negatives: