Issue: Getting 4k Ultra HD Blu Rays to be recognized on computer

I have an LG HL-DT-ST BD-RE WH14NS40 combination Blu Ray drive in my computer. I have 4k movies on Blu Ray discs that I want to play on my computer. The drive does not seem to recognize the discs, be it in windows, linux, or even the UEFI.

So I downloaded/installed the latest windows drivers (1.03) which are dated for a couple of years ago and it was no help. I called LG and sent them and email and request, but no luck. I did get put on hold for a bit and transferred to somebody who actually knows things and it seemed like there was a lack of support for the drive software or firmware updates until "Microsoft recognizes the drive as being 4k capable."

What are my options? I am not a complete novice with Linux and would be willing to dig deep if there was a not-so-clean solution. I do not want to buy another drive, seeing as this drive has the right hardware to make it work. The issue I am having should not even be an issue, so I am frustrated.

Thank you for your time and help guys

No you need software to read from the disks, which are encrypted. Use this to make rips, and then your can burn the unencrypted content onto blank blue ray disks or just keep the digital copies. A fair warning, they will be large. 30+ GB each.

And yes the program works on both windows and linux. The program is MakeMKV.

Bottom Line: blue ray disk cannot be read unless both the hardware (blueray player), and software to read blue rays, are present. That stuff will land you close to 80$. What I linked was a program where you can rip the contents on the blueray disks into a raw mkv container, to then convert to what ever format you so choose, and then you can reburn that onto blank blue ray disks. Doing this will allow you to then have a ready set of disk to play from without the need for the reader software.