Isn't AMD a no brainer choice because of Mantle?

(Noob here) I'm building a PC next week and I'm torn between the 770 and 280x. Can someone please explain why everyone hasn't suddenly switched sides to AMD due to mantle? People go to the extent of saying "mantle practically brings 2018-level performance to current generation graphics hardware." If that's true, or even half true, then why are there so many threads, articles and forums suggesting 770's and 780's? Is it simply poor timing for me to be looking into building a PC? If the miners weren't buying all the AMD cards would there still be a majority preference over nvidia? I'm not interested in Gsync (only because of financial reasons) or Shadow Play.

I'm actually hoping to be proved against mantle because I'm really excited about building a new PC next week but that won't happen if I need to buy a 280x, because all of the ones I'm willing to buy are out of stock everywhere and if I put in an order for one they can't tell me when It will be shipped to me, I could be waiting 3 weeks, and I'm not in a position where I can do that. o

AMD intends for Mantle to be an industry standard that Nvidia are welcome to use.

If Nvidia fails to adopt Mantle, they could produce their own solution. They already have their own API called NVAPI.

Mantle might be oversold/overestimated. We have rumours of a 40% performance gain. However, we know nothing of the hardware. This gain might be seen on an APU, but GPUs might see a minuscule gain.

Very few games use Mantle.

Just grab whatever is cheapest, they perform similarly. Unless there is a specific game or specific use that you have that could determine which GPU is best...?

Well I cant think of alot of nobrainers for switching to a 770 instead. You will ofcourse not have Geforce Experience and the drivers may be a bit better with nvidia. And honestly, there will likely not be a huge amount of games supporting mantle.