Is VT-d necessary for an HBA passthrough to a VM?

I have an i5 2500K in my current ESXi server, and I would like to virtualize FreeNAS with an HBA passthrough. I'm new at this and still muddling through and was hoping to get some advice before I pull the trigger on an HBA card. Sorry if I posted this in the wrong place, pretty new to the forums and haven't quite learned my way around.

Yes, my understanding is that to pass a physical device throught to a VM you will need VT-D support regardless of the Hyper-Visor.

Some Hyper-Visors support virtual fibre chanel provided the HBA card and drivers also support it. E.g. https://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/hh831413%28v=ws.11%29.aspx?f=255&MSPPError=-2147217396

1 Like

https://kb.vmware.com/selfservice/search.do?cmd=displayKC&docType=kc&docTypeID=DT_KB_1_1&externalId=2142307

The platform must have an IOMMU for DMA remapping any PCI Function which is to be assigned for VMDirectPath I/O. The IOMMU’s DMA re-mapping functionality is necessary in order for VMDirectPath I/O to work. DMA transactions sent by the passthrough PCI Function carry guest OS physical addresses which must be translated into host physical addresses by the IOMMU.

So, yes, you need VT-d.
Why do you need passthrough anyway? Is your system CPU-bound?