Is VFIO the correct solution for me?

I was planning on doing a new build for when Zen 3 come out and I been looking for months for the solution, is there is any, for the build I have in mind. I want a hypervisor and Virtual machines that I can load, pause and reload. I discarded many option and end with possible using Xen or KVM, I never used them I don’t have experience with them, just trying to learn about before commit. After I found that Xen will probably give me problem with drivers right now, I end here in this forum.

My Idea is to use a Ryzen 5950x (planning on buying when available) have a headless hypervisor, then 2 cores for a headless tiny Nextcloud server, 2 cores for a web-user Linux machine and 12 cores free to summon (load) what I need at moment of use, like a workstation, Linux gaming or windows-gaming machine.

I’m a system analyst. I do programing compiling, compression and decompression (that is where that 12 core will be use mostly), I play strategic and tactic games on my free time. What I have right now is a Laptop where I use for Web, email, discord, scheduling and so on, I have a workstation for work and I have a Nexcloud on Digital ocean that I rent online. My Idea is to upgrade all that in one machine, with multiple virtual machines.

I was thinking on using what I have on hand for this project and only buy the Ryzen 5950x because it will not get to waste if it does not works.

This is what I have:

Mobo: ASUS Strix B550-F
Mem: 32GB
Vcard1: RX 580 Nitro+ (may upgrade, I don’t play demanding games)
Vcard2: RX 550 (have it around, could use on the web-user VFIO)

So, Is VFIO the correct solution for me? can I do 2 VFIO and 2 headless? can someone point me to the right direction? or technology is not there yet?

English is not my first Language, sorry for any mistake and thanks for any response.

For home use go with KVM. It’s now as good as Xen, and has many life quality features that Xen doesn’t. Also has way better community support.