Is this normal

i’m a intern for my high schools .I.T. Department and when we turn on our laptops with 5400rpm hdd’s the hdd is pinned at 100% at idle for about the first 10min and then turns down to a safe usage is this a good or normal thing or not???

Are the hard drives just spinning at what sounds like a high RPM or can you also here the read/write head moving as if some service (like indexing) is using the drive? If its just the sound of spinning its likely the drives are just loud and old and the best you can do is reduce the time before they sleep in power settings. If you can here them writing even when idle you need to see what is running at startup that would be causing such heavy HD utilization.

2 Likes

What OS? Windows 10?

2 Likes

When I had a 5400 rpm mechanical in my laptop with Windows 10, this was very much the norm. Having a look at the process tree will give you an idea as to what is doing most of the disk reads and writes. An SSD cured all of my issues.

Honestly Win10 shouldn’t be sold with these. The sheer amount of network calls kills a drive.

3 Likes

I would agree. The only reason for a 5400 in a laptop is power savings. I personally would sacrafice a little longevity for more speed.

there at 100% read write

yes windows 10

Win 10 is simply not intended for spinning rust drives, especially slower ones like 5400rpm drives.

I have heard this from desktop users and laptop users. Win 10 at this stage just expects main boot drive to be am SSD and there is no toggle or other disk management method to deal with it. You just have to ride out the high usage or get an SSD.

So yes in Win 10’s with a spinning drive this is “normal”. Though it definitely should not be. It is lazyness on Microsoft’s part.

When you say 100% you mean in the “task” section of task manager, right?