Is lifi a pointless convenience?

Lifi has been a hot topic lately, but I can't seem to get to jazzed up over it. Even if you can transfer data at 10gb/s, or whatever, that isnt gonna make your download speeds any quicker. I'm no expert, by any means, but when I'm downloading something the data is going to be relayed from one place to another before it gets to me. The entire trip from there to my home isn't going to be all layed out in top notch fiber. At some point it's gonna hit a bottle neck, or several, so it l just end up going at practically the same speed. The only use for that super fast data rate is to send data from one machine to another within the same home/office network. From what I understand anyway.

If I'm wrong, which I hope I am, can someone fill me in?

That sort of speed is more useful for a large network servicing many clients. Like a public wireless network.

Well, couple of things.

First, there are quite a few reasons to have local networking that performs quickly. Gaming with local friends comes to mind, as does having your own file server to keep things like movies or project files or just archived stuff off your personal PC's drives, and also on-site backups.

In short, there are plenty of reasons to have a fast LAN, and LIFI would make that more convenient. Because who likes running ethernet everywhere?

First-point-five: Honest answer: I do. I may be paranoid, but I prefer to trust in physical connections. They're harder to take advantage of, by Eve or Mallory or whatever your preferred metaphor may be. (Admittedly most of them are crafted with the Internet in mind).

Secondly, @Dexter_Kane is quite correct in his suggestion. If you are the kind of person who likes to work at the local coffeeshop, LIFI will mean a lot more to you than I. They're already paying for the best service to the Internet that they can get -- which you may not want for cost reasons or maybe it's only available to businesses from your preferred local ISP.