Is it safe to run a firewall in a vm?

So I am no expert at anything ok. I jusy wanna use the machine I have for what I eanna use it for. Its doing nothing else, fuck it.

As some may know I have macs aplenty. One such mac I was going to use as a firewall and quickly learned that wasn’t going to happen as pfsense can’t just be installed. I could build it, but that seems stupid. However what also seems stupid to me is just installing pop os, installing vm tools, and then just running the tools I want on that, firewall and pihole being examples. Idk maybe some other tiny tools here and there. Point of using the mac though is the dual gigabit nics. As its just home users here it’ll be ok and I can upgrade later if needed.

But first…… can I do this and nothinbg explodes?

1 Like

In a mission-critical setting, I would avoid it.

In a security-critical setting, I would strongly advise against it.

At home, go for it!

3 Likes

no need if your system your running the vm on has a firewall. assuming your not running the vm with NAT as the network adapter.
if you are running NAT then yes you should run the firewall on the vm as your directly accessing the net, not passing through the vm, to the host and then to the net.

1 Like

Yes, if you’re not hell bent on pfSense as a webui you could even run it in a container, and use docker-compose or podman-compose…

e.g. nat router in one container, pihole DHCP+DNS in another. You get to use the host kernel networking stack, and get to benefit from hardware offloading, without putting a ton of network management tools on the host os, or having services listening.

That way your host doesn’t really need an IP stack running assigned on the wan interface. Set Unmanaged=yes in systemd and you’re done.