Introduction and some NAS guidance

Hi all!

Subscriber to Level One Techs and somewhat long time lurker of the Level One Forums. I’m finally signing up to become an active member of the community and hopefully can provide some useful inputs once in a while. I’m a software developer and tech geek who has recently been bit by the homelab bug. I’ve done a decent amount of cloud based work in the past, but wanted to start building a small homelab for a fresh perspective and for additional capabilities for me and a pretty technical family (my daughter and I are all CLI-first Linux people. My wife and son…not so much).

The logical place to start seems (to me anyway) to set up some 10GBe network and a NAS. The two constraints I have is we, a family of four, live in a small Bay Area apartment, so I want it silent. I presently have a LaCie 6Big Direct Attached Storage for my main machine that sounds like a bag full of nickels falling down the stairs anytime it’s running. As a result, it’s almost always turned off, limiting its use as an automatic backup drive. Also, my hobby is audio production, so I’d like to have minimum latency when pulling samples off the NAS for programs like Superior Drummer or Kontakt (sample sizes range from hundreds of megabytes to single digit gigabytes). In this way, the Lacie also fails where reads are slow enough to cause Kontakt to stutter when scrolling through samples. In terms of future NAS usage, I’d like to set up automatic backups setup for the family’s ~8 computers as well as caches for gaming/steam libraries and music production (few terabytes of audio libraries and samples) . Likely order of low teens of terabytes all in.