Into the Earhole: A Sound Guy’s Blog

I’ve been meaning to blog my travels for a while, but haven’t given myself the time to write it properly. I’m still not giving myself the time to write it eloquently, but here’s a place to dump interesting encounters and thoughts, rather than the lounge.

I’ll start with who I am. I’m an audio engineer who mostly works on tv/film production and post audio. I do commercials, reality, documentary, corporate, games, music, and whatever else pays. I’m just the ears. I dig sound, both creatively and technically. The reason I’m doing this on this forum is because I also like computers, and there’s always a great deal I can learn from the community, here, especially given the career differences. I welcome any discussion.

I also have other production-related endeavors. I have been trying to start a side hustle in software, and have been lurning-2-kode in my free time since 2017. You can see my good, bad, and worse public code at

11 Likes

Went to CA a few weeks ago. I saw two plastic straws. Both producer and talent kept theirs for multiple days of reuse.

I also spotted a homeless looking guy in the city with a boom box on a shopping cart. He had the whole thing plugged into the Christmas lights on one of the trees lining the sidewalk. After passing a bunch of nightclubs while searching for food, it took me a minute to realize this one wasn’t another club, but a homeless man blaring 80’s tunes using city power. 10/10

3 Likes

The last two weekends I have been working in Montana for the same show as the CA shoot. Last week, I walked into a downtown trinket shop, and there was a little old man behind a workbench. A lady walked by and commented, “it’s nice out here,” to which he replied, “yes, it’s a good life. (pause) …a better life.” It got awkward quick, and she left.