In response to @wendell IoT video today

Hello all.
I was just perusing through the new video, half paying attention as it’s not something i believe in. At least at the moment.

I share alot of fears regarding data privacy that many among us do but i feel alot of every day people with no interest in the nuts and bolts of tech actually trade their privacy for ease of use and plug and play convenience.

For my employment i am a Tececoms Engineer and I work at Openreach, which is a part of BT here in the UK.
On a daily basis i visit customers of all backgrounds and circumstances with various (mostly internet) issues which need to be rectified through fault (bottleck) finding, testing and manual graft.
We operate on a vast mojority copper VDSL network and i can tell you from first hand experience most data issues are inside the home.

I see IoT devices strung up by have a go DIY dads constantly. Hive systems, Nest, 500 Alexa’s. washing machines and all the other stuff.
Everything seems to suffer if there is any kind of issue with its connection to the outside world and WiFi is the thing that EVERYONE uses for EVERYTHING.
Tv with the broadband hub next to it. Nah dont plug it in just use WiFi etc etc

Very few people are interested enough to even know the difference between WiFi and Internet, let alone what those little yellow ports are on every static device they have, or an ethernet cable.

So my point here is that IF this privacy system is to work and be adopted widely it would need to sit in between the WiFi access point (as i believe the future of development in this stuff will be wireless) and the internet point. AND i think there may be a set of products which can do it. MikroTik

A few years ago i fully ethernet cabled my home. I rerouted my connection to a small cupboard and wired it all into there so it was all out of sight and out of mind.