Improving programming skills and work on project “org-software” - Devember challenge

Disclaimer: I am not a programmer (obviously). My programming skills so far mostly extend to some hastily thrown together Python scripts and some code in Mathematica. (Also I did a course in C and a bit of Java in school but we didn’t do a lot there) Most of the “programming” I currently do is implementing some maths for data analysis, so don’t expect too much from me.

I can not guarantee that I will be able to complete the challenge because other obligations in my life take priority but I will do my best to make it. For this reason I have slightly modified the rules I will promise to adhere to, because I don’t like to make promises that I am not sure I can keep.

I, anotherriddle, will participate to the next Devember. My Devember will be “Learning the skills required to code my project org-software*”. I promise, I will do my best to program for my Devember for at least an hour, every day of the next December. I will also write a public devlog and will make the produced code publicly available on the internet. No matter what, I will keep my promise.

My challenge*:

Improving programming skills to get closer to realizing my pet project. The current title in my project folder is very unimaginative “org-software” for organizing software. Some time in the future I want to be able to write a proof of concept program with a user interface and the basic functionality realized.

So, my Devember challenge will be:

• improve Python programming skills
  • learn how to make simple GUIs with Qt 5 (Pyside 2)
  • try to build a few of the features of my “org-Software” if I get that far (probably not)
  • side quest: improving my work environment and setup for programming
    As me trying to learn serious programming is probably not very exciting for you guys, girls and Apache helicopters I will also document my outline for the “org-software”.

Project org-software: