Im geting so tired (mxgpu, sr-iov)

Can someone please tell me the easiest, most stable way to get VMware workstation like setup on a linux host OS, with windows guest, and have it be hardware gpu accelerated/native performance?

Im getting so tired of searching and not finding.

If I had an mxgpu (firepro) and used KVM, would connecting through spice give me the same native performance? If so, why is lookingglass needed? This is the are im not getting!

For native performance, consider running windows on bare metal and linux in a VM.

sr-iov video cards are pretty rare in the home lab setup, and they don’t game very well (look at craft computing and serve the home video on the subject).

windows on bare metal is out of the question

It depends on what you mean by easy. I would find it fairly easy with the right hardware, as I have some Linux experience.

With some hardware(ie bad IOMMU groups, AMD GPU reset bug), it would be hard or not stable. With some hardware, it would be impossible with the current software(ie no IOMMU, or some Muxless laptops).

For a user that has very little or no Linux experience, it would be more difficult.

Define this, please. Do you mean GPU performance? CPU? Memory? Disk? Network? The latency of the video?

The realm of GPU acceleration in VMs without spending boatloads of money is still a very niche thing. So you may be looking for something that does not exist, or at least not without significant work.

I think spice video has higher latency then Looking-Glass.

Because most people don’t have $10k for a Radeon V340 that only delivers probably like Vega 56 performance at max. They also cannot or do not want to pay for an Nvidia vGPU card and also the software licensing

They want to buy normal consumer GPU and pass it through. To get low latency good looking video feed out of a GPU in a VM, you either have to use Looking-Glass or plug it into a monitor directly.

What is the reason for this?

3 Likes