Ideas for my newly acquired server

Hi there forum!

I'm new here and in need of ideas for my upcoming server build. What better place to look, right?

I recently bought a HP Proliant ml350 G6 and a ProSafe GS748T for 80$ that i intended to use for training as I am trying to "climb the foodchain" at the office. I work as a print/IT -technician and could really use some more experience in the server and networking side of IT.

At first I was just going to install {insert random server OS here} on it and hammer away. Turned out: not very productive.
I realized later that this HP G6 has dual xeon 5504's and 48GB of memory and an extra dual port Gb NIC on it and feel like I can take over the world with this thing! The problem is I don't know were to start.

At work Windows is basically the only thing running but I'd like to lean some Linux as well.

What would you forum members do with it that would help me increase my overall understanding of Enterprise IT environments? (All suggestions appreciated!)

You should make your own e-mail server.

1 Like

On a server with those specs, don't waste it all on a single OS :P install Proxmox, oVirt, or ESXi, and then you can try ALL THE THINGS. Windows, Linux, BSD, you name it.

Personally I'd use Proxmox, but it's your server

1 Like

Yes, I saw Wendell's video on Proxmox and it looks really interesting! And i do want to try ALL THE THINGS!

Any suggestions on a good e-mail server dist? Exchange seems to be the way to go here in Sweden but is there any other popular versions that would be good to take a look at?

Suppose you could install pfsense in Proxmox to play with, or would that be complicated on a VM?

I realize now that there probably is no such thing as a e-mail server dist... But hey, you probably know what I'm looking for here :)

i was wondering about this. how does esxi handle raid? does it share it for all the VMs? i assume there are tons of how to videos for esxi.