i7 4790k

I currently own a FX 8350, its a very good processor but my friend is looking to buy it off me. Would it be worth the trouble upgrading in terms of editing performance boost and in game fps boosts. The games i'm looking for a boost in would be Total War Rome II and World Of Tanks. The problem is I cant find any benchmarks for these games. Anyone know the benchmarks and the rough performance increase over the FX 8350?

I'm not so sure because I have no real experience with those games in particular. That being said, in general, the 8350 and the 4790k perform nearly identically in games. Certain games that are poorly optimized, like DayZ/ARMA ect., run better on the Intel but the differences aren't that huge. Really your GPU is most important.

As for editing/rendering it is also a bit of a toss up. I have a Xeon 1230V3, basically a 4770, as well as an 8350. In games, like I said, they are about the same. Editing the Xeon is a tiny bit faster but nothing to write home about. Def not enough of a boost to justify buying a new CPU and motherboard as well as all the extra work of installing it and reinstalling Windows and updating drivers and the lot.I bet if I OCed by 8350 a bit higher, from the 4.8 to say 5.0 GHz, they'd be identical. The 8350 does very well in editing and especially H.264 encoding.

Most people though even then will, if possible, offload it to the GPU and use CUDA or OpenCL to speed performance.

If you feel like the 8350 is slowing down a little overclock it. The FX CPUs overclock like beasts. Also invest in an SSD. They will give you a much more responsive system right there. Way more noticeable than a CPU change.