I want to use a linux distro as my main OS

Really do like kubunto 15 with the kde plasma 5 desktop. Can i install it on a different drive i don't want to overwrite windows, sorry if i sound like a total noob, im not but i am compared to you guys!

1 Like

I would install linux on another drive. It just makes life so much simpler. :)

3 Likes

Yup but can i boot into it all the time without having to go through bios? i have never ran two Operating systems before so im not sure how this works.

You can update the linux bootloader (typically GRUB) to give you the option between the two when you boot.

1 Like

You can set it up to be your primary boot drive ?

1 Like

Yeah i can? Do i have to install it on a totally different ssd or can i primary boot into a partition

EDIT: by partition i mean a partition made to install linux on.

I think partitioning is a waste of time and more hassle than it is worth when it comes to windows and linux playing nice together.

3 Likes

here would be my recommendation, if you need me to elaborate on any of these let me know.

if you have a extra drive laying around and have room on your pc for one you could install linux on that. i would unplug your windows drive just to be safe, install windows then plug the windows drive back in. then just set the boot order you want in your bios. if you wanted to boot to the non-default drive you could just go boot off of it via the boot menu,

if you are on a laptop or only have one drive you can shrink your partition in windows provided you have the free space, you can then create a separate partition on the same drive to install linux on, this will probably install grub on the drive and mess with your boot order so you may have to modify grub to change the boot order. its not that hard but it can be scary the first time you do it, this is the most risky of my solutions and if you proceed with it be careful as you can accidentally erase windows if you are not paying attention.