I want to learn about Mining, where to start?

I don't know shit about mining, nor about miners. I know CGMiner and MacMiner, I know roughly how to use litecoinpool, and I know roughly how the chain works. But I know fuckall anything else.

I want to mine with my 580 I think. I have a nice big 8GB unit and having some cryptocurrency spare would be nice. I at one point had 2 whole bitcoin that someone gave me off IRC but I have lost it somewhere. Oh well lol.

So, what should I know?

1 Like

Not sure if you are talking about the general algorithm behind it,
This is a technical explanation

Simple explanation

Here

If you are doing etherum, check out
1 Like

I just started learning about it while trying to learn about Iot and blockchain.
Never even knew Fintech was a word.

Unrelated but you said 580 so you might like this: http://wccftech.com/nvidia-gtx-580-dx-12-benchmarks-geforce-384-76-geforce-400-500-series-direct-x-12/

I just want my machine making me some bank and I want to know what I have to do to make it all go. Lol.

1 Like

That's what I was thinking, which currency are you thinking of mining?
If etherum, follow the guidelines above
If Bitcoin here, guy explains how to setup, and if you dislike the voice everything is in the description

Well so far I'm downloading the last 3 months of ethereum crap onto my laptop before I can make my wallet and mine. That'll be done sometime mid-day tomorrow.

The shit part is I'm probably going to make a backup offline wallet on my netbook to dump ETH into when I have this all going again.

I'm annoyed that this download is taking so damn long just to have my wallet :expressionless:

@bedHedd help D:!!!

your on linux right(going to assume so)?

• you have already updated the drivers for your video card as well?
  • Do you have a similar looking files to windows(ignoring the log files)?
  • If everything matches, open the config.txt file and add the following commands