I think my 540M is dying?

So, my current "day to day" PC, ie the one that I use the most for everything is a Dell XPS 15, L502x, roughly...three years old I want to say? It has an i7 with a 540M in it. Now, when I got it everything was awesome, you know, finally a laptop that I can really play (most) games on. Didn't come close to my desktop at the time, but that's to be expected.

Around late November/earll December, I kept having weird freezes and crahses on Modern Warfare 3. At first it was a "meh, ill quit playing on my laptop, cause IW sucks at PC games anyway" but then it slowly spread to other games, to the CryEngine 3 SDK and UDK (at one time I was a dev for alterFPS but that's another story entirely), and it just seemed to be getting worse. Now, most games were fine, but the few that triggered the crashes were litterally unexplainable, unreproducable, and seemingly for no reason whatsoever, and with each crash things got worse.

The first time, it was a simple video freeze. Audio kept playing, but video was frozen. Eh, no big deal, it happens, reboot and play again. The next one, it froze and the screen kinda did a weird flashing thing, like it was flipping between two partially displayed frames. The third time, audio started looping. The fourth time, half the screen got corrupted, with part of the game and the other half was still the game, but severely distorted, random colors, etc.

By the 10'th or so crash, i would get complete screens of solid colors, sometimes this dark green, sometimes with a bright orange.

Eventually my friend Baha said that he knew someone with an issue like this, and he fixed it by underclocking his GPU by 1% or something. So, i did the same and the crashes and freezes seemed to have stopped.

By this point, however, its around june-july of 2012 and I had moved all my gaming back to my desktop because the crashes were so annoying, so I didn't really notice too many odd things.