I need your help making a decision on which GPU I should get

Hey all, I hope I can get some help making a decision on whatever I should get an RX6800XT or an RTX3080. My main goal is to run one single gpu and basically run Pop_os as my daily driver OS. I also would like to have a Windows vm just to play my games, as well as having another OSX vm so I can run a Hackintosh vm in order to do my software development work. I know that with an RTX3080 I can’t run OSX but that can be solved by buying let say an RX570.

What would you suggest me if I was only going to run Pop_os and a windows vm for my games, would you pick an RX6800XT or an RTX3080 knowing that I don’t care about DLSS or RT as none of the games I play need that, I also don’t do any Machine Learning so far as I am just a new grad Junior Software Developer, maybe in the future but nothing in the next five years or so.

Thank you for any recommendations or suggestions.

For historic reference I would use Nvidia always as they they seemed to support linux better. But for now its not so clear.

My own system I would choose AMD. Just to try it now.

Do you have a budget for the card? Right now the 3080 will be a challenge to find. You may be able to find one on Ebay at an inflated price, but I wanted to ask before hand.

So far where I live there is a bunch of 3080TI and 3070TI available. As well as the XFX Speedster MERC 319 Radeon RX 6800XT but they are selling it for 1.5K CAD which is insane, they also have the TUF RX6800XT OC GAMING for 1.3K CAD which is beyond MSRP…

I would figure out which would work best for your workflow on the day to day. While both are overpriced at the moment, they’re not too far apart. I personally am not familiar enough with Linux pass thru to say if one would be better than the other.

Intel and AMD release open source drivers for their products while Nvidia is actively hostile towards open development.