I made something: CAD drawings/renders for "3D" Waterblock Concept

Click here for alternative link to image

A while back I saw an insane custom loop setup with a 9900K, but the setup was really under-performing relative to the amount cooling equipment. The bottleneck: transferring the heat energy from the relatively small hotspot on the IHS, through the waterblock, into the coolant.

I’m not an engineer, but that seemed like a really silly problem to have. So I came up with a concept to address those issues and designed it in Fusion 360. This really is just a concept, without manufacturability in mind.

Looking at the pictures and diagrams, what do you think? could this actually work? Like I said, not an engineer. If I knew how to set up and run a fluid/thermal physics simulation, I would.

Goal of the design:

• Spread heat from die across a much larger area
  • Provide much much more surface area (without creating a low pressure zone)

Key differences to traditional water blocks:

• Use of a vapor chamber that is wrapped around a copper core
  • Constricted capillary tubes instead of micro channels
3 Likes

I’m not a thermodynamicist, but that makes sense to me. I’d put em on my home servers for a giggle.

1 Like

Looks good from a performance standpoint (maybe? I am no engineer). Will be a nightmare to produce though.

Surface tension and viscosity might be a problem here. Holes like that are nearly impossible to drill. Sawing slits in the sides and soldering the vapour chamber to the ends may be better.

1 Like

I figured the drilling might be a challenge. Maybe electric discharge drilling would be feasible?
The central distribution cavity is even more challenging: I don’t think sand casting is an option, given the precision required, and the fact that cast copper is more difficult to machine. Maybe slicing the whole thing horizontally, like a Sandwich, and manufacturing the copper block in two halves could work.