I dont understand hatred toward ubuntu

I have been using Ubuntu for so many years in my life I make a comment that “I love Ubuntu” a harmless comment on youtube comment section. All suddenly Linux mint fanboys got mad and said that it have broken and outdated repository on ubuntu. I want a friendly discussion about that state of ubuntu nowadays from long-term users.

6 Likes

From my experience, the “Distro Holy Wars” are faught by those, who are new(ish) or have no greater perception of what linux is/does and how it works.

Those of us, that dove deeper and have seen a lot of distros, eventually realize, that the differences are actually really small.

I currently, at work, run Fedora. Just because it delivers Stock Gnome out of the box, has exactly what i need anyways preinstalled and doesn’t require further setup from me. It’s low effort, low maintenance and just works OOB for me.

Ubuntu is getting a lot of hate from people that got into linux, and think they are somewhat elite now because they can install arch with a tutorial. Ubuntu is often pitched as a “beginner distro”, which leads to others saying it’s not “1337” enough.
For me, Ubuntu has always been solid, but uninspiring. You have the advantage of having any linux software under the sun packaged for it. It’s installer is rock solid, the defaults are sane and stuff tends to work.

For me, Linux mint users seemed very defensive about their Distro of choice (no clue why) to the point where they forget, that mint was once Ubuntu, was once Debian… It’s a lot like People. In the beginning we where all apes :wink:

15 Likes

I have use fedora , open suse , pclinux , steamos , solus , manjaro , and linux mint and elementary os/ yellow dog linux as well in the past for a reason still came back to ubuntu its was easier to install that the rest. I got tired of distro hopping all over the place just switching between windows and linux a lot I sick of it.

Please don’t put any merit into what is posted there.