I could have a 980ti or wait or what?

I have about 160 in credit notes, a slightly battered iPhone 5c doing nothing and a GTX970, This all adds up to the price of a 980ti at the 2nd hand shop.

I have a CRT monitor that's capable of 2560x1440@75hz (2560x1600@68hz is also fine) but AMD doesn't do analogue so a no go there

Would there be any point in me waiting for something else and not getting a 980ti now since this generation of NV cards may be the last with DVI-I anyway?

I'm not 100% decided due to DX12.

I'm no expert on CRT monitors but I think a new modern panel would be my first investment over a 980ti

No, They aren't good enough for me yet at the 400 price point, I wouldn't spend more than that on a screen.

What are your system specs right now?

2500k 4.4-7 depending on my mood, 16gb, aforementioned 970

Just picked up a NH-D14 for a few £ so 4.7 will be the new norm.

Well, the panel technology has improved vastly since some time ago, when if you wanted good color representation and what not, your choice would have been CRT hands down.. There are panels, specifically made for color representation, panels made for refresh rate, etc...
To answer your question as it is, Nvidia is expected to release Pascal in February, as far as i remember... So probably wait a couple of months...

I will have to wait for OLED UHD to be affordable before I wish to change monitor, If I'm forced to (get a current UHD) by nvidia dropping DVI-I for Pascal is another matter.

I could exchange the 970 and phone and get a placeholder card I guess...

1 Like

well, when pascal comes out, 980Tis will not disappear from the world... you would still be able to get them, you will just have more choice... Even more, after you take in consideration, that 900 series have issues with DX12... Hopefully Pascal will resolve those issues...

1 Like

Your crazy like a FOX! I like you style, TAKE MY WALLET!