HW for NAS/Home server

Hi All!

Writing from Spain.

I have a machine I want to use to create a NAS/Home server and I have lots of questions.
I already have everything except the hard disk drives, but I don’t want to make a bad decision and throw money away.

What I want to do with it:

First:

• (urgently) Install FreeNAS with ZFS and ‘secure’* my data.
  • Actually learn to use ZFS and available ways to share storage over the network.

Then:

• Install PiHole for my TV.
  • Put a Torrent client.
  • Use it like some kind of media server. ( wanted to test Plex if I can easily install it within FreeNAS )
  • I work as a Java Dev. so I would like to use the machine also as a server ( git repo, learn to use containers, virtual machines, etc ).
  • Learn bash and re-do everything without FreeNAS.

The HW I already have is:

PSU ( 750W plus gold )
MB MSI X570 Tomahawk Wifi
AMD Ryzen 3600x
32GB RAM Cruzial Ballistix 3600 ( non ECC )
DD 500GB SSD (that I will put in an USB external case until I have a NVMe)
GPU Nvidia 770 4GB

BUYING PLANS

The MB has 6 SATA ports and I don’t want to buy an ‘HBA Controller’ so my buying plans are:

First:

• Buy 3 SATA SSDs ( I would love to them to be 2TB each, but I might end up with 1TB ones because of price )

Candidates:

Later:

• Buy 3 5400rpm SATA HDs ( About 4 tb each.)

Candidates:
WD Red Plus (WD40EFZX) (111€)
WD Red Plus specs sheet

Seagate IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN006) ( 109 € )
Seagate IronWolf 4TB (ST4000VN008) ( I only find it more expensive than the 006 which I don’t know if makes sense according to the specs, does it? )
Seagate Ironwolf spec sheet

Much much later:

• Buy a NMVe 2TB ( For the SO, Storage and cache )

Questions:

• ( Thx in advance for your understanding XD ) May I assume I will have ~2/3 of usable space if I put the SSD drives in a ‘group’ of three units where I can restore my data if one of them dies?