HP Proliant Support Pack for Proxmox 4.4, any advice?

Hi all,

Actual question: I am running proxmox VE 4.4 on an HP Proliant DL380g6. "HP ProLiant Support Pack CD for dpkg-based distributions" for this machine only exists for a limited set of older hypervisors (up to xen 6.x, up to debian 6.0, ...). Because I am running proxmox 4.4 (based on debian 8), I am wondering if it would be a good idea to try to install the debian 6.0-version of the support-pack. If it installs correctly, with my limited experience, I would have no way of checking if the software would be running correctly, aye, there's the rub, as the SP is supposed to be able to upgrade the BIOS etc, it would be more than a minor setback if it does not perform as it should. Any advice?

Background:
I am a computer science student, and recently bought my first server. It is a used but clean and fully functional HP Proliant DL380 g6. As this is my first venture into the enterprise-class hardware, it has been quite a learning curve, but that's why I started this journey in the first place!

The experiment was trying to passthrough a PCI device to a vm (an HP Fibre Optic network card that was included in the purchase, it was a real bargain). IOMMU seems to be functional, but trying to start the vm with the pci-passthrough, I ran into the RMRR-issue. Therefore I need to have the HP Service Pack, so I can take the next step in solving the RMRR-issue, as I don't see any other way around it. And this is where my doubts arise: would it be safe (as in, not brick my machine) to try to meddle with the bios through a SP meant for debian 6, while running proxmox 4.4?

Keep in mind, I have no real goal with this, it is an experiment for it's own sake, for the sake of solving the problem, so advice like 'use another hypervisor' would be beside the question :wink:

Feel free to give feedback or ask any further questions, and I will provide information (to the best of my knowledge) accordingly!