How to solder

I’m currently working on a project that involves soldering these +12V and GND wires (on the right) to this DC barrel plug (on the left), and I’m rather new to soldering. I’ve only previously soldered on two occasions and they’ve both come out quite trash looking.
I only have this cheap soldering kit, as shown below, and a tub of flux I haven’t touched. I also notice every time I’m done soldering, the iron tip is dirty and covered in solder and other crap, so I sand it down to clean it.

I’m looking for proper advice on what I should actually be doing in order to solder and clean the iron correctly.

1 Like

A flux pen, or gel syringe is a good way to get accurate flux where you need it.

For the cleaning, a wet sponge while the iron is hot is the easiest, just drag the tip across relatively quickly and it will do a lot to clean it. Another option that is quite nice and maintence free compared to keeping a sponge wet is a ball of brass wool, just stab it with the soldering iron and in generally scrape the tip clean, again while hot.

Despite the gnashing teeth and wailing, lead solder is far better than lead free for DIY stuff. It is just easier to work with, flows better, leaves better joints.

2 Likes

As a general rule, is it better to heat the target and apply the solder to it? (like heating the pad of the PCB, or the wires to be soldered)

Rather than using the tip as a trowel and heating the solder to the tip, then scraping it on to a cold target like glue?

I’ve heard of solder wire with flux inside.
Does it run through the centre like a reversed with (opposite of plastic outside, metal inside)
Or is the flux distributed evenly along/inside the solder?

1 Like

Oh yeah flux core solder, I never even considered there was solid for small scale home gamers. Yeah flux core is pretty much all we get here. Definitely recommended, though get a flux for the parts to be soldered too as well.