How to setup safe way to print from foreign USB sticks people bring in

Hello guys.

As of now, I work as a photocopier/printer technician. We have a few spots where people come with their stuff to print (big formats, technical drawings, posters, tickets, documentation, you name it). Just like in this video where Logan comes back unsatisfied from the print shop ^_^ https://youtu.be/OZt3WOtksIs?t=22s

I would love to hear your advice on how to setup foolproof and safe way to print form USB sticks.

I'm thinking Linux (OpenSUSE?/U-Kubuntu?/Fedora?/Mint?/Manjaro?) as main OS then virtual W7 (originally installed on that PC) on top of it. That way if it craps out, just reload virtual machine image and you're good to go.

Ideally it would have to somehow isolate some USB ports from the host OS and pass them through to the VM.
I think network communication like SMB scanning and network printing should be unaffected. Host OS should be transparent to the virtual machine. Am I right?

Could you guys point me in the right direction and I shall research the solutions? Any pros in the crowd?

PS. If you guys have any suggestions for a better topic title please share them. ^^

/backstory below:

All PCs (apart from the one I use back at the repair shop) are managed by an aggressive, blithering idiot clown co-worker. The guy seriously needs a beating (I'm not joking). Every time the PC for making prints is down it becomes a cause of big drama.

The problem is that people bring on their USB sticks all imaginable kinds of crap. There's no protection whatsoever. No isolation, no AV, no backup, no will to acknowledge that it is a problem. OS on that PC (W7) is held together by means like duct tape, super glue, crossed fingers and a magic spell. Every time a long forgotten, well known by now crap incapacitates that PC, the remedy is to put more of the above on top of it and hope for the best.