How to set up tiered storage on windows 10

Hi there, I am interested in the store MI technology on the new X470 platform, but noticed from the recent video that tiered storage can be set up using storage spaces on windows 10. There doesn’t seem to be a huge amount of info out there as to how to do this. Some people say you need at least 2 SSD and 2 HDD to do it while others say one of each will do.

I have a 960 evo nvme as my boot drive and don’t want to involve it in the tier, but I also have a 500gb 840 evo and a 4Tb seagate storage drive I want to use. I also want to be able to add additional HDD to the storage space as more capacity is needed. A simple storage space is fine. I don’t need mirroring as all my data is stored in a network server as well as my desktop, I just like fast local access to the data as well.

I have seen a couple of guides on how to do this on google using powershell, but I have never used it before and don’t 100% understand what I am doing.

Has anyone else done this with one SSD and one HDD or have any thoughts.

Thanks

Wouldn’t it simply be transparent to storage spaces, because underneath it?

I was planning of just using the windows 10 tiering rather than the ryzen store MI stuff as I don’t need it to be bootable, and it saves using any more software. I am just a bit unsure how to do it as there is no gui for tiering in win10 and I have never really used powershell before. I have found a few guides but some are pretty old and they contradict each other.

I was not aware that Windows 10 have more than basic functions of Storage Spaces. After reading your question I have probably found the same tutorials/examples as you did. One of them was actually an example of 2 SSD and 2 HDDs - but I think it was only an scenario that author used as an example.

I have not tested tiered storage so far. But I have in my home two machines that have some volumes with storage spaces, and here are my recommendations for you: