How to lead & influence healthy change in a large enterprise organisation?

Introduction

Those of you who know me reasonably well would know that I’ve sold my soul & I’ve taken the position of being a software engineer in the world of finance. :joy: Anyway, I’ll try to keep my rambling to a minimum, I’m aware just how bad I am for that.

So, I work in a bank, where there are many a system older than myself, not to mention some very old practices & processes that just need some major TLC. I mean in my current position, it’s really weird how things work, more often than not someone non-technical & quite high up the hierarchy is making some very hands on technical decisions. But that’s just the tip of the iceberg…

Culture

In my very own opinion, one big issue with the company that I currently work at is the culture, I was actually quite shocked to learn just how slit-throat the culture can be in IT. Rather than sharing information & embracing a very nurturing & open culture where you share your knowledge & you encourage others to get their toes wet in all aspects of IT, they’d rather stick to good ol’ silos. I’ve actually heard people say things like:

Yeah, we could do that, but then ‘x’ may take all the credit for my work.