Return to Level1Techs.com

How to have self-hosted docker-image have different external IP?

selfhost

Hello!

I am trying to figure out how I can have my docker container (possibly kubernetes in near future), which I am hosting on my own home network, can seem to have a different external IP address. There are multiple instances of the same container running, some I would like to have a different external IP address. How can I achieve this?

There are a few things I found, such as a service (here in NL) which apparently sets up a GRE tunnel, which allows me to have a different external IP, but unfortunately its service is only for registered companies.

I also looked into running a VPN docker image and route traffic through there, I have a PIA subscription with 5 devices. All though this setup sounds a little… amateur? also doesnt scale very well i suppose. Feedback welcome.

Also have a google clout platform account with 300eur credit (also dont mind paying if its not too expensive). Maybe GCP has a service? im trying to understand all of the GCP products but its confusing.

TLDR; have a self-hosted docker image have a different external IP.

0 Likes

If you can set the network adapter you could dedicate a NIC to it eth0 vs eth1

macvlan is an option, too

0 Likes

As far as I understand it, this makes the connection to docker access the NIC directly? Wouldnt that still leave me with the same outbound IP address, which would be my own network? Only the macaddress would be different.

0 Likes

Ah you are asking for WAN not LAN. Maybe a VPN VPS. Or maybe a SOCKS proxy.

Or as @Adubs said multiple IPs from your ISP

Or run the docker image in the cloud.

0 Likes

do you have multiple IPs already?

0 Likes

No I do not have multiple IP’s, just one. Which is the problem.

My ISP doesnt allow for multiple IP addresses, only if I take a business package which is expensive

0 Likes

You could VPN that machine to a cheap VPS then.

1 Like