How to Dabble into Fields

Hey guys I am a computer science student and I wish to go into software engineering and AI stuff or maby I will just sell out and get an MBA after but I was wondering if there were any legit ways to dabble in other fields without getting a BS, MD, or PHD in that field? I am wondering this out of curiosity, I dont plan on entering any other fields apart from a vertical management position possibly in the future.

Yeah? Its called a minor.

I wanna say that a minor is 15 credits extra credits, a dual bachelorette in a very similar field is around 30 extra units.

And then obviously a degree in a totally different field is 60 units.

Some schools offer a hybrid degree where you can make your own title and mix and match two minor programs that the school can sign off on at their own discretion.

So for instance I combined neurology and electrical engineering for a neuro electronics degree. Which is a fancy way of saying that I like to take EEG machines and turn them into gaming mice : P

What do you mean? In the workplace? Happens all the time.

More often than not people work in a field unrelated to their education.

2 Likes

I wouldnt consider a minor since the companies I have talked to dont recognize it as valuable. They prefer side projects and I dont want to delay my graduation. College for me is about business and focusing on my primary career in software. I was wondering for post college like different certificates or AA degrees at most.

Well tbh any time someone tells you something is not taken seriously is full of shit.

The important thing is how you sell it to someone.

So if you wrote a resume and said Oh hey I have a degree and a minor, then yeah. No one will take you seriously.

But if you said that something to the effect of... 'hey, not only do I have the degree you require, but I also took several extra classes that really taught me something unique that would allow me to be a true asset to your company'.