How To Cleanup Distorted Audio Using Audacity?

Welp, this 1 ought to be interesting:

I’m curious to know if there’s any guides out there on how to cleanup distorted audio (not remove audio) using Audacity? :thinking: I made a post on the LTT forum about this topic & someone there suggested Audacity even though I’ve never used it before. In case anyone is wondering, I’m asking because I’m still working on that personal project of mine & I noticed that with some of the tracks that I had to convert, there’s a tiny bit of distortion to the audio. (To be clear on something: these tracks aren’t my own; I got permission from each artist/Youtube channel before downloading them. Even though I can hear each individual track just fine.) So if anyone knows anything or can point me out to a guide, that would be greatly appreciated! :smiley:

If anyone happens to need more details, or wishes to ask me anything additional, feel free to do so & I’ll do my best to fill you in! :slight_smile: Thanks in advance!

Distortion can only kind off be fixed after recording.

There should be a clipping removal tool somewhere, let that run over the recording.
Edit: Highlight the section (or entire track) → Effects → Clip Fix (towards the bottom)

I see what you’re saying, but I forgot to mention in my post that these tracks I acquired aren’t my works because I’m not a musician; they’re actually for a project I’m currently working on. I will edit the post just in case anyone else decides to comment with something helpful…

1 Like

The quick and dirty way I do it is to precisely highlight the segment of the audio where the noise is and just turn down the volume on that particular segment. It will be tedious if there are multiple distortions particularly if it happens every few seconds, but for occasional noise, chirps and scratches, thats how I do it.