How to Adult?

I’ll start off with saying that I didn’t have a particularly fruitful beginning of my adulthood. Past 2 years were more of a blur of some fantasy land far away that I may some day reach, but I think we all know what’s at stake. There isn’t anything resembling that.

I can be organized in my work space, clothing, cable management, paying bills on time and such. But what I am not good at is… life. I can’t seem to stay organized when it comes to time management, discipline and inspiration.
I suck at that. But I also understand that it’s kind of important (probably extremely important), I have things that I want to do but I more often than not find myself doing things that in no way contribute to my well being. More and more I look at myself, more I feel like I am not taking my life responsibly. Wasting it on trivial things that only give me a short term satisfaction, and screwing myself over in a long run.This sort of behavior of mine goes directly against what I seek in life. My aspirations and goals seem to be washing away in front of me. I’m no longer a kid, I need to grab my life by it’s balls and lead me to success.

Hence why I am here asking the “adults” that feel like they have a fairly responsible way of life as well as those that are slowly on their track to having one.

What did you do to keep on top of your life?
How do you decide to spend your time?
Do you keep a detailed calendar?
What did you learn about personal finance?
How do you keep track of numerous documents? Events? Goals?
What do you routinely do to not let your life go adrift?
How do you manage your personal hobbies, with work and life?
What is your goto way to remain productive?

How do you Adult?

It’s something I ask myself more and more and seem to have little grasp of what it’s even like to be one.
Anything of value helps. All I seek is advice, not a guideline.

3 Likes