How much should I charge for my freelance web development services? (UK currency)

So I recently got a friend of mine saying his boss at work wants someone to make, maintain and ultimately fully design a company website, he pointed them in my direction as that's what I'm studying at my university. I am also dealing with his social media too, essentially he wants me in charge of all things IT at a one off cost. I'm okay with this as a one off payment is fine and its experience for me. My issue is, what do I charge for this? £100? £1000? £10,000?? I've no idea at all.

If they want on-going support, they should be paying you for as long as you're doing the work for them.

You're offering a service, not a product.

Like @MazeFrame's suggested below, you're best off looking at what others are charging, and adjusting to how much you think your time's worth.

3 Likes

Typed in "Website design uk", clicked the first link. Hope this helps.

@mrtypist7
Sit down with the client to get the full scope of work. Then write a detailed estimate based on whatever hourly rate you charge for development and the rate you charge for design and or continued maintenance - server costs etc.

Give the client your proposal/contract (making sure to protect your ass from cheapskates) to sign. Ensure that any variation to the scope of work is billed as extra, and you invoice accordingly.

Always ask for 50% up-front. Never give a fixed price as a webdev/designer otherwise you'll burn yourself.

@MazeFrame
One of my companies charges 2K just for logo design. $999 for an eCommerce site? fuck off.

1 Like

No idea what to charge for web related stuff..

I'd say make yourself a per hour charge. Something like £25-40 (depending your skill really) / hour. Ask your clients for their needs and make sure you iron it out before DOING ANY WORK, and notify them that any additional changes after the contract is signed will need be additionally charged.