How does a Mobile (laptop mostly) Processor runs?

Well, hello there!

I was searching for a laptop to buy and came across some interesting stuff that I don’t understand:

How does a mobile laptop cpu works?

Because you see, I’m no expert on the matter, but no complete noob also.

The clock speed is about cycles per second, the higher the clock speed the more cycles per second. I also understand that clock isn’t an universal benchmark, it depends on a lot of stuff (even deeper stuff than the quantity of cores, like the set of instructions and the architecture itself).

But I stumbled on the laptop i3 and i5 and was like: wait a second… what?

Intel says (on its ark page) that the clock for the i3 7020u is 2.3 GHz, ok, and the i5 8250u runs on 1.6 GHz with a turbo boost of 3.4 GHz (that seems high for a laptop, sounds nice). And then it hit me…

How the hell does a clock speed work?

Does the i3 stays clocked on 2.3 GHz even in idle? Does that mean it will be there going nuts over my standing still desktop environment? Does this means it will drain more battery?

What clock speed actually means? Does the cpu stay always ready warming up or does it stay put and wait for its time?

And by the way I don’t need lots of processing power, will just be doing some coding for a college course and studying. Even after graduating I won’t be doing much graphically intensive stuff, mostly web development, so an i5 will probably be overkill, that’s why it’s the main example here.

To be honest, neither of those values will give you any decent comparison on those CPUs. Those can be helpfull when comparing a i7 7600 to a i7 7700k, but other than that, Cores, Clock and such say basically nothing (at least not in detail).

For the “easy” solution you can go to the Passmark website and compare up to 3 CPUs:
Like that
This isn’t a assesment of actual real world performance, but it can tell you a bit about how those CPUs might perform. But this also depends heavily on your workload.