How Do You Type? (Poll)

I was just thinking about this because I got my new keyboard recently, and it’s made me realize that I have never really been taught how to type. Specifically, I noticed that I use my right index finger to hit the space bar most of the times. I’ve never done any typing programs or anything. So I’m finding it somewhat difficult to figure out where to put my fingers with the new key combinations for this keyboard. I usually end up at about 80 WPM on a normal keyboard, but I’m only at about 63 on my new 40%. I’m sure I’ll warm up eventually, it just got me thinking.

What about you guys?

Strict is like by the books, or very close to them.
Semi is you were taught, but have your own methods as well.
Self-taught is no training.

• Strict
  • Semi-strict
  • Self-taught

0 voters

With my fingers!

7 Likes

Umm I remember learning typing in a class. We spent most of the time playing yahoo pool.

3 Likes

Most often with the index finger using just my left hand, generally I have a beer in my right.
In the unlikely event I’m out of beer, I use 7 fingers. No pinkies or left thumb.
Edit: Not missing fingers, they just idle lol

1 Like

I hen peck like a mofo. Really it is more like 2 or 3 fingers per hand depending on what I’m doing. I’m substantially faster this way and a great deal fewer mistakes, but I also have to look at the keyboard. I don’t need to see every key, but getting some sort of orientation helps a lot when typing.

I also have caps lock removed from all of my keyboards so I can put my left pinky there for orientation while gaming, not to mention avoiding all those emo’s screaming “MY EYES ARE BLEEDING!” because of capitalized text from hitting that bastard key. I don’t do any serious gaming or typing, so this works well enough for me.