How do you tackle large, unknown Codebases?

I’d like to hear some advice from more seasoned or expirienced devs. I’m not a professional myself and would say i only code recreationally. Until now, i did most of my stuff from scratch, but recently i found myself wanting to change existing Projects.

For the particular thing i’ve selected to look into, i’m having a go at the new Windows Terminal Github Prject
Since this is done by mostly professionals, it’s on a completely different scale than anything i’ve looked at until now. I’m able to clone the Repo and can build/debug it perfectly fine, so i have working code.

How do i tackle something like this? Lets say i want to start with something “easy” and just change something like the color of one element, or the size of something. How would i even start to find the relevant parts in the code? I’m familiar with c++ a bit by having worked on my own DWM fork, but that’s only a few lines of code in comparison.

I have Visual Studio and Code set up and can work through the code, but in most cases, there doesn’t seem to be anything done directly in place and finding where functions, references or variables come from feels nearly impossible without having programmed this myself.

Any good tips on what to focus on and where to look at first to find a certain property, element or function?

1 Like