Return to Level1Techs.com

How do you get such high forum read time

I’ve clicked on some profiles and have no idea how some of your “read times” are so high. I’ve been hanging around these parts for 4-5 years, and have amassed an avg of 23 mins daily, which is probably about right for me, but still feels like a lot, as I’m mostly on mobile, so it’s more intermittent than constant desk work + forum.

Just an open-ended question: how do you (as in you, personally) do it, and who here thinks they have the highest?

0 Likes

Kewldude has most posts read. I would imagine he would have highest read time.

Ooo. Both kat and kewldude are at six months

4 Likes

It’s definitly spiked since becoming a mod since I have to read a bunch of stuff for context. But basically its because I had to work 3rd shift for a few years and there was nothing to do.

1 Like

Lurking
I often find topics I know the square root of jack shit about, put them to watched and keep on reading.

4 Likes

I, too, find some threads quite interesting in this regard.

1 Like

Hang out in the lounge a lot.
Kewldude, Kat and SoulFallen are the top three.

2 Likes

That’d be me, “tied” for most read time and unquestionably most posts read at over a million. In fact, in quite a number of statistics I’m at the top.

Have a six year old account
lounge about every day for about 4 years
check forum more than a dozen times a day while not at desk, then have a monitor viewing the forum constantly while I am at my desk.

This place is my primary form of social interaction outside of work.

9 Likes

Bots. Bots Bots. Bots for fun.

1 Like

Na… all you have to do is click open stuff.

2 Likes

Well, it’s simple…
Go to the lounge. Read and post there. That will boost your stats massively.
On the other hand when I’m home I often check the forum. When I’m at work I occasionally check the forum whenever I have the time. So I spend a total of maybe 5-6 hours a day I. The forums reading stuff.