How do you all come up with ideas / things to tinker with?

Hey all,

Bit of a random post, but I think there’s a lot of intelligent / creative people on here, so I wanted to pose a question.

I’m a Golang developer by day, and while I deeply enjoy it, I struggle to translate that into working on personal projects. I get stuck on figuring out “what” I want to work on, what new things to tinker with. I also struggle to figure out how to break into working on open-source projects.

So my question is: how do you all come up with projects for self-learning, maybe bettering open-source, that sort of thing? How do you set aside the time and “force” yourself to do it, if that makes sense?

2 Likes

I’m not nearly as active in personal projects as others, but for me it always comes down to solving a problem I already have instead of looking for one that might not exist.

It means that I’m invested in the problem.

Sometimes that means digging into FOSS projects and seeing if I can contribute or just use it as is with a few local tweaks.

Sometimes that means learning new tools and technologies but not really doing any active dev work; it’s merely me learning about something so I understand it as I deploy on my home network.

A lot of time it means stepping back and re-evaluating the tools I use and analyzing how I use them and considering alternative hardware and workflows.

I find all of that keeps me more than busy enough while also keeping me learning skills that translate into other areas.

Edit:

Examples would be:

Learning about Plex, video streaming and hosting and encoding, various audio and video codecs, TV technologies, Audio technologies, etc…all from a simple desire to have a simplified, yet high end quality home theater setup in my living room.