How did you start with Tech?

Hello!

So I would say that it is REALLY easy to say that anyone on this entire damn forum likes their computers and technology, whether it be for a career, or just a hobby, we know that you have a deep passion for it. We also know that there are many different kinds of you, from the Linux command line guru to the basic tech enthusiast, we have this passion which has been sparked by something.

For myself, I got started in technology in a sortta interesting way. So at my school, they have a chapel thing (Its Christian) with plenty of mics and whatnot. Any way, they have a pretty neat little sound system with a plethora of mics and instruments for all your PRAISE BE JEBUS, with a 32 channel audio mixer and rack mounted amps and compressors. Funnily enough, when I started working there as a junior sound engineer, I knew nothing about sound systems (Had to teach it myself as I missed out on training) and knew about the same with computers in general. Up to that point, a barely used a computer aside from some games here and there. However, I started to get interested and began my pilgrimage of knowledge, researching all out sound systems and how to actually use the goddamn mixer. This then after a period of a few months deviated into technology, of which I have had a passion for ever since. Since then, I have learned so much with Operating Systems, how computers work, I am apart of the PC Master Race, the "Wall O' Monitor Club" Hey, @wendell :) ) and have definitely tried to convert others over to the dark side of the nerd, (I have succeeded, albeit not with my parents #NerdProblemsFixingTheEmails).

So what are your stories? I am absolutely certain that there are a great many tales that far exceed that of mine.

1 Like