How did you learn C#?

Maybe It's just that I'm impatient, but I'm not sure if just taking notes on Brackeys videos is the way to do it. I'm struggling on to work on a project I'm doing right now, but I refuse to parrot other people's code.

So are you good at coding in C#, if so how did you learn?

Don't just take notes...
Give yourself a project... For example code this to do that...
Than open the help files and start reading... type a code, see what happens... 3 days later - you are done...
Give yourself another small task... After this thing. it has to do that thing... then again...
Other than that, you can get a book or something...
But i like to learn by doing stuff...

1 Like

Yeah I have, last practice project I made was a calculator. It worked great... Except it only multiplied :(

I wouldn't pay me to write any C# code, but I have written a few programs for personal use - self taught. I use the personal project method as well. I think the best thing anyone can do is make lots of mistakes - then you learn how and why, rather than just how.

If I was doing it professionally, I'd follow it up with a certified course and/or dedicating a lot of my time to make sure my methods are industry standard. But I'd do that stuff later.

My two personal projects were a wheel diameter calculator (to help you choose new rims for cars without messing up your speedo) which is out on the internet somewhere, and a file transfer / bootstrapping package for getting files on to DOS PCs with a cheap USB adapter from your Windows 7 laptop - no floppies. The last one works but I haven't finished yet, but damn I learned a LOT doing that!

Historically, I've learned almost everything with this method. Pretty sweet in today's age of google, code completion, and forums.

1 Like

I learned in school but like psycho_666 said
is best to make and objective and chase it there are several sites that have lots of C# code
c-sharpcorner
codeproject
stackoverflow