How computers help fight Coronavirus (and other biological problems)

Hi everyone, I’m a PhD virology student working in a structural biology lab at a well-funded public university in Montana, not too far from Rocky Mountain National Labs. I don’t study Coronavirus (although I’m very familiar with it), but rather an obscure virus known as Sulfolobus turreted icosahedral virus (STIV), that infects Archaea (single cellular organisms with similar morphology to bacteria). I also do a decent amount of molecular biology, and macromolecular structure work, including X-ray crystallography, and Cryo-Electron Microscopy. In this work, we use some ridiculously powerful computers, both on-site and remote, and most of our work is done in Linux as well.

Because of the huge influx of interest in Folding@Home, I thought I’d highlight how computers help us structural biologists figure out lots of different things. Why is it important that we know the structure of biological macromolecules?

• Learning mechanisms. The biggest discovery of the 20th century is often argued to be the structure of DNA, because it allowed us to determine how genetic code was made. Virtually all biological and medical achievements since the discovery are reliant on DNA manipulation at some point. Knowing what DNA looks like, and how it’s held together made it possible to manipulate. The same goes for many proteins. Learning how they work can direct us into modifying them, or can shed light on entire metabolic pathways.