Hommade Audio Switcher

Hey guys,

i want to build a audio switcher that can switch between 2 pcs because i just cant find one (That just switches audio or at least has a reasonable price) so i decided to make it myself. If you know a product with that i can use 2 pc's with one audioset for a cheap price please let me know.

In my plan there is an additional feature to switch the output from speakers to headphones but its not a must have.

I want to use 3 Switches with each 3 circuits (like this http://www.tube-town.net/ttstore/images/product_images/popup_images/5415_0.jpg)

So here is the plan

This should work just fine from the logic.

But what about the physiks? I have no experience in building audiostuff so i could use your help whith answering my main question:

Will this work without lowering the quality of the audio?

I mean there are a few more soldered and pluged connections on the way to the mic/speakers.
Also the switches have a resistance (about 20 miliOhm) will this affekt the impedance or something i have to worry about?
And what about the shielding? I planned to use normal cables or coaxcables but in the case there wont be shielding.
Of course i can shield the inside of the box with aluminiumfoil from the kitchen connected to the gnd of the actual source (pc1 or pc2) but is this necesarry?

Thank you for your help guys!

greetings from germany

Felix

This should work fine without any degradation but it could be simpler, you can connect all ground wires and mics are mono so a the mic input can come through an SPCO and you can use two DPCO switches to do PC and headphone/speaker selection. If you wanted you could make the whole thing a little smoother you could use a jack that has built in pass through that way the speakers would work only with the headphones disconnected.

Best of luck

Thank you microsparky.