Homeserver with Linux

Hi there
This is my first post. I know that this is the software category but I have some questions about the hardware too. Hopefully you can help me to sort out some questions. I am new to Linux but i’am willing to learn and Time does not realy matter :slight_smile:
I’d like to build a homeserver. I’d like to run some virtual machines on it. A plex mediaserver, a webserver for webapps, a postgresql server and a Windows 10 for gaming, 3D Blender stuff and daily use. I read a lot, but I need some advice from experts like you.
I thought about this for the hardware:

• Threadripper 1950x on a asrock x399m taichi (i’ve allready the case because i like the smal form factor. I know that shoud be the last that you buy but the watercooling stuff fits very well…)
  • 2x HDD for movies (have them at home)(may be one more for RAID5)
  • 2x SSD (have them at home. I thought about keeping them for the sql server)
  • ?x m.2 PCI-E SSD (1x for host, 1x for win vm, may be one for the other vms)
  • 64GB of RAM ECC
  • 1x Nvidia 780gtx (for host and the vms)(have this at home)
  • 1x nvidia 1080ti (for my gaming vm)(would buy one)

For the system I thought about Fedora, because you mastered the passthrou of the GPU to the vm.

So now my questions:

1. Is there a chance that this can work at all?
  2. Whitch Fedora is the best for that use case (server or workstation)? Like I said I’am new to the Linux world, but i’am used to use the commandline.
  3. How woud you set up the storage? My idea is to manage all the storage on the host and than give it to the vms. Is this a good idea or is it better to pass it to the vms and let it handle by the vm? For the Windows vm i would prefer the passthrough of the PCI-E SSD.
  4. Whitch filesystem would you use. I thought about openZFS and RAID1 for the HDDs and SSDs.